All you need to know about new Ranji format starting next season

All you need to know about new Ranji format starting next season

New Ranji format: After a long break, the Ranji Trophy will be back in 2022 with a new format that includes two legs. Here’s everything you need to know about India’s first-class tournament, including the start date, schedule, teams, and venues, as well as information about the format, groups, and qualification.

Ranji Trophy 2022: Format

Over the course of 62 days, a total of 64 games will be played between 38 teams (pre and post IPL 2022). There are eight Elite Groups and one Plate Group. Each Elite Group has four teams, and the Plate Group has six teams.

Teams in the Elite division play each other, while teams in the Plate division play three teams from the same group.

Quarter-final qualification

One team from each Elite Group will make it to the quarterfinals. The lowest-ranked of the eight qualified teams will play the top team from the Plate group in a pre-quarterfinal game. After the match before the quarter-final, the quarter-final draw will be made.

Ranji Trophy 2022: Groups

Elite A: Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Kerala, Meghalaya; Venue: Rajkot

Elite B: Bengal, Baroda, Hyderabad, Chandigarh; Venue: Cuttack

Elite C: Karnataka, Railways, Jammu & Kasmir, Pondicherry; Venue: Chennai

Elite D: Saurashtra, Mumbai, Odisha, Goa; Venue: Ahmedabad

Elite E: Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan, Services, Uttarakhand; Venue: Trivandrum

Elite F: Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Tripura; Venue: Delhi

Elite G: Vidarbha, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Assam; Venue: Haryana

Elite H: Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand, Chattisgarh, Venue: Guwahati

Plate: Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, Arunachal Prades; Venue: Kolkata

Ranji Trophy 2022: Venues


Narendra Modi Stadium, Narendra Modi Stadium-2, Gujarat College Ground


Eden Gardens, Bengal Cricket Academy (Kalyani), Videocon Academy Ground, Jadavpur University Campus 2nd ground


SCA Stadium, SCA Stadium Khanderi B Ground, Madhavrao Scindia Ground


Ch. Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium (Rohtak), Gurugram Cricket Ground


Arun Jaitely Stadium, Roshanara Club Ground


Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Judges Field, NFRSA Ground


Barabati, KIIT (Bhubaneshwar), Vikas Cricket Ground (Bhubaneshwar), DRIEMS Ground


St Xaviers’ KCA Cricket Ground, Greenfield Stadium, KCA Stadium (Mangalapuram)


MA Chidambaram Stadium, IIT Chemplast, IC-Gurunanak College Ground

Ranji Trophy 2022: Schedule

Each team will play three league games. Two days before the start of the IPL 2022 auction, on February 10, the pre-IPL phase begins.

First leg (Pre- IPL 2022): February 10, 2022, to March 15, 2022 (34 days, 57 matches)

Second leg (Post- IPL 2022): May 30, 2022, to June 26, 2022 (28 days, 7 matches)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Give WhatsApp Number