PAK vs WI: Babar Azam cost his team five runs after a peculiar sequence of events in the second One-Day International against the West Indies.
Babar Azam was seen putting on one of the gloves for keeping wickets.
PAK vs WI: Babar Azam
Captain Babar Azam got his 9th consecutive score of 50
PAK vs WI: Babar Azam: Pakistan captain Babar Azam got his 9th consecutive score of 50 or more in all formats. s the hosts beat the West Indies 2-0 in the second of three ODIs in Multan, making it impossible for the West Indies to win. In the first ODI, Babar hit a hundred that won the game. In the second, he hit 77 off of 93 balls with five fours and one six. He did, however, cost his team five runs in the field because of a strange thing that happened. When West Indies was trying to score. On the 29th over, Babar was seen using one of the wicket-keeper gloves to pick up the ball from behind the stumps.
Against the West Indies, why did Pakistan receive a five-run penalty
PAK vs WI: Babar Azam: Because of the action was taken by Babar.The on-field umpire ruled that it was illegal, and as a consequence, five additional runs were added to West Indies’ total.
Rule 28.1 of the Cricket Laws says that protective gear – “Any fielder other than the wicket-keeper is not allowed to use gloves or wear leg guards that go past the knees. Also, hand or finger protection can only be worn with the permission of the umpires “.
West Indies kept losing wickets at regular intervals
The incident, however, did not have any significant effect on the outcome of the match. As Pakistan was victorious in the second One-Day International by a score difference of 120 runs. Babar’s knock of 77 runs and Imam-ul- Haq’s knock of 72 runs. Both contributed to Pakistan’s total score of 275 for eight after the team won the toss and elected to bat.
In their reply, West Indies kept losing wickets at regular intervals and were eventually bowled out for 155.
The third and final ODI will be played at the same place on Sunday, June 12.